WASHINGTON —Today, U.S. Senators Chris Murphy (D-Conn.) and Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Congressman John Larson (D-1), Congressman Joe Courtney (D-2), Congresswoman Rosa DeLauro (D-3), Congressman Jim Himes (D-4), and Congresswoman Elizabeth Esty (D-5) along with Governor Dan Malloy announced that three Connecticut institutions are part of a winning bid for a $70 million federal energy efficiency innovation investment. As members of the Smart Manufacturing Leadership Coalition, the United Technologies Research Center (UTRC), the University of Connecticut (UConn), and the Connecticut Center for Advanced Technology (CCAT) will receive support from the Department of Energy to boost research that will help manufacturers reduce costs and increase energy efficiency. The Smart Manufacturing Leadership Coalition is made up of a consortium of nearly 200 partners from across academia, industry, and non-profits—hailing from more than thirty states—to spur advances in smart sensors and digital process controls that can radically improve the efficiency of U.S. advanced manufacturing.

“Connecticut manufacturers’ and researchers’ important role in this competitive coalition thrusts our state onto the cutting edge of energy innovation,” the delegation said. “By boosting groundbreaking research, this significant federal investment will help manufacturers increase efficiency and reduce energy costs, making our manufacturers more competitive.”

“This is no doubt great news. Advanced manufacturing is central to our economic success. That’s why we have prioritized and made substantial investments in technology-based manufacturing across the state. This significant investment will no doubt bolster our aerospace, shipbuilding and energy sectors, and it will help businesses of all sizes move forward,” Governor Malloy said.

The Smart Manufacturing Leadership Coalition will receive this support as the leader of the new Smart Manufacturing Innovation Institute, which is the ninth manufacturing hub awarded by the Obama Administration as part of the National Network for Manufacturing Innovation (NNMI). Each institute is a public-private partnership devoted to manufacturing excellence.