WASHINGTON – U.S. Senator Chris Murphy (D-Conn.) joined U.S. Senators Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Al Franken (D-Minn.), and Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), and a group of 28 other senators in introducing the first-ever Senate resolution recognizing June as LGBTQ Pride Month.

“Pride Month is about building up our communities and bringing people together,” said Murphy. “Who you are and who you love should never be reasons for discrimination, and Congress needs to recommit itself to making our country a more inclusive and equal place. I’m proud to stand with the LGBTQ community.” 

The resolution notes major milestones in the fight for equal treatment of LGBTQ Americans and resolves to continue efforts to achieve full equality for LGBTQ individuals. Today, June 28, marks the 48th anniversary of the Stonewall riots.

U.S. Senators Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Maria Cantwell (D-Wash.), Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Tom Carper (D-Del.), Chris Coons (D-Del.), Catherine Cortez-Masto (D-Nev.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Kamala Harris (D-Calif.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Ed Markey (D-Mass.), Bob Menendez (D-N.J.), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Patty Murray (D-Wash.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.), Ron Wyden (D-Ore.), Martin Heinrich (D-N.M.), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Mark Warner (D-Va.), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), Jack Reed (D-R.I.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Bob Casey (D-Pa.), Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.), and Tom Udall (D-N.M.) are also sponsoring the legislation.