WASHINGTON–U.S. Senator Chris Murphy (D-Conn.), Chairman of the U.S Senate Foreign Relations Subcommittee on Near East, South Asia, Central Asia and Counterterrorism, joined U.S. Senators Bob Menendez (D-N.J.) and Jim Risch (R-Idaho), Chairman and Ranking Member of the U.S. Senate Foreign Relations Committee, along with Senate Majority Leader Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.) and Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.), in introducing a bipartisan resolution to celebrate the 75th anniversary of the founding of the State of Israel (May 14). The bipartisan resolution reaffirms the United States’ steadfast commitment to Israel’s security, underscores our dedication to combatting antisemitism, and celebrates the indelible ties between our nations and our people.

“I’m proud to join this bipartisan resolution celebrating the historic 75th anniversary of the founding of Israel. The United States was the first to recognize Israel as an independent state, and ever since, we have continued to build a strong relationship grounded in our shared democratic values. Israel is a partner and ally without comparison, and I look forward to continuing to work together to strengthen our bonds, combat anti-Semitism around the world, and advance a two state solution in the Middle East,” said Murphy.

“I am deeply proud to be joined by a great number of my colleagues on both sides of the aisle in celebration of the historic 75th anniversary of the founding of the State of Israel,” Menendez said. “Today, we extend our warm congratulations to the Israeli people and honor their immense contributions to global society. We also demonstrate our unwavering support for Israel’s right to exist as a Jewish and democratic state in peace, prosperity, and security alongside its neighbors, and redouble our efforts to combat hate and antisemitism everywhere as instances of such heinous acts continue to rise. Since its founding, Israel and the United States have shared a special relationship grounded in shared democratic values, strategic interests, and genuine friendship and mutual respect. I look forward to continuing to work with my colleagues in the Senate and around the world to advance our nations’ bond for generations to come.”

 “The United States and Israel share an unshakable relationship firmly rooted in our shared values and national interests,” said Risch. “On Israel’s 75th anniversary, we applaud Israel as a symbol of strength and democracy in an often turbulent region, and recognize the significant role Israel has played to break down barriers through partnerships like the landmark Abraham Accords. Israel has no greater friend than the United States of America, and I look forward to our continued work to enhance peace, confront the forces of extremism and intolerance, and build a more peaceful Middle East.”

“75 years ago, the U.S. immediately recognized Israel at its establishment, marking the beginning of a deep relationship based on our shared values including democracy and the rule of law that has transcended time and politics,” said Schumer. “I look forward to further strengthening the U.S.-Israel relationship in the years to come and continuing the progress of normalization of relations between Israel and her neighbors.”

“The United States was the first country to formally recognize the state of Israel at its founding in 1948,” said McConnell. “It has been America’s honor to watch our friend and partner blossom into a vibrant democracy, a dynamic economy, and an inspiring beacon of welcome for the Jewish people. Our strong security partnership in the face of common threats continues to lead our two countries toward shared security, and the entire Middle East toward greater stability. I am proud to join friends of Israel everywhere in celebrating this joyous anniversary.”

U.S. Senators Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Mitt Romney (R-Utah), Chris Coons (D-Del.), Todd Young (R-Ind.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska), Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Pete Ricketts (R-Neb.), Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), Jacky Rosen (D-Nev.), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), and Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.) co-sponsored the resolution.

Find a copy of the resolution HERE.