HARTFORD—In honor of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, U.S. Senator Chris Murphy (D-Conn.) announced on Monday the 15 winning essays of his sixth annual ‘Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Essay Challenge.’ This year, Murphy received more than 2,200 entries from elementary, middle, and high school students from across Connecticut reflecting on Dr. King’s dream and their own aspirations.

The winning essays, pictures and videos can be viewed below. Click on each student’s name to download his or her essay. In addition to being available below, the winners are on display in Murphy’s Hartford office.

“We honor Dr. King’s legacy by continuing his fight for justice and equality. Every year, I am so impressed by the students across Connecticut who submit essays of their reflections on Dr. King and their own dreams for a more just future. Young people have always been at the forefront of the great social change movements, and their hope and determination continue to inspire me,” said Murphy.

1st Congressional District Winners:

Layla Lopez

Neo Sebastian Reyes, Joseph A. DePaolo Middle School

Prince Rusweka, William H. Hall High School

2nd Congressional District Winners:

Madeleine Gagnon, Windham Center School

Kashish Koul, Windermere Elementary Public School

Catherine Minegar, Old Saybrook High School

3rd Congressional District Winners:

Austin Christmann, Pumpkin Delight School

Collette Fleur Hammond, Long River Middle School

Ayannah Obas, West Haven High School

4th Congressional District Winners:

Amy McCabe, Miller-Driscoll School

Cameron Ableman, New Canaan Country School

Sanjana Jain, Shelton High School

5th Congressional District Winners:

Lillyana Homa, Alcott Elementary School

Lydon Tessier, Whisconier Middle School

Allison Amaya, Bethel High School