WASHINGTON–U.S. Senator Chris Murphy (D-Conn.), a member of the U.S. Senate Foreign Relations Committee, on Wednesday released the following statement after the U.S. Senate voted to ratify Finland and Sweden as members of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO). The vote was 95-1.

“Expanding NATO to include Finland and Sweden advances U.S. national security interests and sends a strong signal to the Kremlin that the alliance is stronger than ever. Putin’s playbook has long been to stoke chaos and sow divisions in the West in order to grow Russia’s sphere of influence. The United States and our European partners have stood united in support of Ukraine’s defense against Russia’s invasion. Today’s vote is a reminder that NATO’s door remains open, and I congratulate the people of Finland and Sweden on this historic day,” said Murphy.

In May, Murphy signed a letter urging President Biden urging him to expedite the Executive Branch’s process to advance Sweden and Finland’s applications for NATO membership and pledging to work with the administration to ensure swift ratification of the Washington Treaty.