WASHINGTON – U.S. Senators Chris Murphy (D-CT) Richard Blumenthal (D-CT) and and U.S. Representatives John Larson (D-1), Joe Courtney (D-2), Rosa DeLauro (D-3), Jim Himes (D-4), and Elizabeth Esty (D-5) today released the names of the Connecticut men and women who have accepted offers of appointment to one of the four United States service academies.

“These impressive students are stepping forward to serve our country, fight for our freedom, and protect our democracy,” said the Members. “Nominating these young leaders to attend one of our nation’s service academies is a great privilege, and we are proud to support Connecticut’s best and brightest students as they embark on this path. These are smart, tough, dedicated men and women who are volunteering to risk and commit all. We are grateful to them and their families for their service.”

Each year, Members of Congress are able to nominate candidates for appointment to four of the nation’s U.S. service academies: The U.S. Military Academy at West Point, New York; the U.S. Naval Academy in Annapolis, Maryland; the U.S. Air Force Academy in Colorado Springs, Colorado; and the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy in Kings Point, New York. Graduates are commissioned as officers in the active or reserve components of the military or Merchant Marine and serve for a minimum of five years.

The nominees were chosen by each Member’s Selection Committees, a nonpartisan board made up of service academy graduates and retired military personnel. Those nominees who have accepted appointment are listed below.

U.S. Military Academy at West Point

Robert Bertil Anderson: Riverside
Grace Elizabeth Blackwell: Redding
Madeline Margaret Burns: Ridgefield
Meaghan Michelle Carroll: Cheshire
Paul Edward Corapi:New Canaan
Sean Dillon Coyle: Ansonia
Deanna Rachele Edgar: Norwich
Matthew David Evans: Enfield
Leah Elizabeth Foodman: Redding
Donna Gloria Funaro: Fairfield
Byran Matthew Gerstenfeld: Fairfield
Claudia Louise Hess: West Hartford
Liam Reilly Kane: New Britain
Justin Aminul Karim: South Windsor
Johnathan Louis Keating: Ridgefield
Shea Thomas Allen: Brookfield
Seth Benjamin Losure: Watertown
Elizabeth Marie Martin: Weaatogue
Louis Alfredo Palombo: Mansfield
Emma Jack Powless: Darien
Aaron Nicholas Romero: East Hampton
Brian Timothy Savidge: South Windsor
Andrew Buckley Scott: New Canaan
Valerie Marguerite Shaw: Greenwich
Samantha Marie Stewart: New Canaan
Jacob Eric Troelstra: Westport
William Quinton Jair Walter: Windsor
Rebecca Ann Weigel: Lisbon
John Hamilton Wilson: New Milford
Kyle Joseph Summa: Plantsvillle
John Gallop Ziomek: Ellington

U.S. Naval Academy

Bradley Alexander: Ridgefield
Timothy Brough: Wethersfield
Benjamin Birney: Wallingford
Steven Caldwell: Cheshire
Benjamin Clemens: Woodbridge
Daniel Dolan: Redding
Seamus Bourne Dwyer: Glastonbury
Theodore David Freidenrich: Ridgefield
Catlen Elizabeth Goss: Clinton
Michael Joseph Henesey: New Canaan
Christian Eiger Hoffman: Sandy Hook
Benjamin Hardee Nicholas: Cornwall
Jared Robert Taintor: Storrs
Peter Van Duyne: Riverside
Yuwi Yamashita: Windsor

U.S. Air Force Academy

Austin Aitro: Hamden
George Henry Crist: Greenwich
Joseph James Duva: West Hartford
Taylor Marie Howe: Torrington
David Kaminski: Bristol
Francesca Ivana-Rosa Kleine: Hamden
John Alexander Jr. Kostal: Avon
Alec Cole Opsal: New Fairfield
Mark Wojcik: Salem

U.S. Merchant Marine Academy

Meika Grace Gathy: Waterford
Zachary John Hess: Vernon
Colby Christopher McLiverty: Derby
William Quigley: Trumbull
John Maudsley: Wilton